Summer Reads

One of my goals every summer is to do a lot of reading. Even though I graduated college some time ago, I still treat summer as the fun-reads time. Here are some of the books I want to read this summer (I own most of them, and haven’t gotten around to finishing  or even starting some):

1. Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow: I’m a Hamilton fan. I got this book three years ago, read about 50 pages on a plane trip to India and was royally depressed with Hamilton’s early life. I will try again this summer though!

2. The Man Who Owns The News by Michael Wolff: I read excerpts of the book in Vanity Fair, and own the book. Now if only I could get around to reading it. What’s not to love about a biography of Rupert Murdoch, replete with family drama (Wendi Deng and the kids) and ruthlessness? I’m not a fan of Murdoch’s US media holdings, but his work in Asia and Europe is wonderful. I grew up in India, and Murdoch brought satellite tv to India– thus the  affection for the wily old fox.

3.The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai: This book won the Man-Booker, which is a huge deal in the Commonwealth. I don’t remember the details of the book, but I did read an excerpt and enjoyed the style.

Are any of these books on your list? Are there others you recommend?

Leave a Reply

