Just Put Your Sneakers On

Recently, I’ve been back on the bandwagon with exercising everyday and eating right and it feels SOOOOO good: I feel healthier, mentally happier and more upbeat and I look pretty good to boot. I don’t understand how I ever fall off, but it happens and I’m sure I’m not the only one. Whenever I’ve had a lapse and need to get re-motivated there are a few things that help me get started:

1. (and this is probably the most important for me) PUT YOUR SNEAKERS ON…I once heard that the most important step in getting to the gym, going for a run or even working out in your home is to put your sneakers on. Obviously, you need to put them on to do any of these things, but I’ve read that this is actually the most difficult part of the process. Once the shoes are on; however, you are committed and therefore less likely to cancel. So, when you’re trying to get motivated, don’t focus on the long-term goal of getting the workout complete; focus on getting your sneakers on instead.

2. You will not “transform” in a week! It takes time to get back in shape if you’re doing it in a healthy way. Create several small goals so that as you accomplish them, you create more momentum for yourself.

3. Reward yourself! As you reach your smaller goals, reward yourself with little things, like a new pair of shoes or a video game and when you reach your overall goal, reward yourself with a big thing, like a new pair of designer jeans or something fun like that. Note: You probably don’t want to reward yourself with a huge pasta dinner! The reason I pick the jeans is because they are expensive and if I grow out of them, I might as well have just lit the money on fire – not only is this a reward, but it is a way to keep myself motivated to continue FITTING into them!

4. Restaurants and fast food joints have ZERO “healthy options” – ‘nuff said.

5. You CAN do it…you can exercise regularly (and yes, you CAN find time), you can eat right, you can make your own food. It’s not that hard, but you need to commit. Think of a reason that you are trying to get back in shape and use it as your mantra…if it’s because you’re going to a reunion that your ex is attending, think, even say, that over and over again to get yourself motivated.

Based on my experience and what I’ve heard from others; the hardest part of getting back on the wagon seems to be eating. It takes motivation and pre-planning, but in the end, you are healthier and you could even save some money.

Another post to come with some tips on how to eat right in a way that’s cost-effective, time-saving and tasty!

2 Responses

  1. You’re right Lindsay! The hardest part is getting back on track and getting your sneakers back on. All it takes is a little will-power and some dedication and it starts to really pay off. I’ve recently started working out again and watching what I eat and I feel better already! Great advice!

  2. EUREKA!!!

    Ditto to Janine’s comment… you are so right Lindsay! Recently, I have been going back and forth on what I like to call my “Getting Fit Fiasco”. This is where on a Friday, I promise myself that “next week is the week” and in preparation for what is to be my new found uber healthy lifestyle – I of course gorge myself on an assortment of junk food, extra whip lattes and all the tasty treats I can think of – that I will no doubt be giving up once the new week commences.

    But alas *sigh* the new week comes and on Tuesday evenings when I find myself stuffing my face on the sofa watching “The Biggest Loser” (yes, while eating a variety of scrumptous cupcakes and other tasty, pastry delights), I remark to myself..wow – if they can lose 100 pounds I ought to be able to manage 10!

    The sad part is I have a gym membership, I have an ultra cool mountain bike… I’ve got enough workout outfits to make my own Jane Fonda aerobics video (yes, I said Jane Fonda aerobics – I know that is sooo “Kath & Kim” – but I’m old school, ok I digress) and I just bought those awesome gray New Balance sneakers (Yes Lins.. totally biting your style). The point is, I am set – I have the tools.. but have yet to use them. I guess it is like they say: “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” So instead of over complicating things.. I will “just put the sneakers on”.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

